skip to Main Content

June 8, 2020

Contact: Jake Oliver, [email protected], (347) 361-9983

Good Government Group Issues Preferences in 11 primaries for Assembly, State Senate and Queens Borough President
To view Citizens Union’s nonpartisan online voter guide, click here

NEW YORK, N.Y. (June 8, 2020) – Citizens Union Executive Director Betsy Gotbaum today announced Citizens Union’s candidate endorsements in 12 contested races for Assembly, State Senate and Queens Borough President.

The good government group’s preferences include Jason Salmon (Senate District 25- Brooklyn) Elvis Santana (Assembly District 79- Bronx), Justin Cohen (Assembly District 56- Brooklyn) and Khaleel Anderson (Assembly District 31- Queens), who are running for open seats and Emily Gallagher (Assembly District 50- Brooklyn), Jessica González-Rojas (Assembly District 34- Queens) and Jenifer Rajkumar (Assembly District 38- Queens), who are challenging incumbents. Citizens Union issued preferences for incumbent Assembly Members Jeffrey Dinowitz (Assembly District 81- Bronx), Yuh-Line Niou (Assembly District-65), Robert Rodriguez (Assembly District 68- Manhattan) and Aravella Simotas (Assembly District 36- Queens).

Donovan Richards, who was Citizens Union’s preferred candidate in the special election for Queens Borough President prior to the election being postponed due to COVID-19, is the preferred candidate in the June Democratic primary. The group does not have a preference in the contested races in Assembly District 51 (Brooklyn) and Assembly District 73 (Manhattan).

“Citizens Union is proud to support a slate of candidates who have demonstrated a clear commitment to reforming our government so it is more transparent, accountable and accessible,” said Betsy Gotbaum, executive director of Citizens Union. “These past few months have been extremely difficult for New York, and it is more important than ever that we have strong representation in government. We encourage all New Yorkers to take a long, hard look at the candidates seeking their support, and please, remember to vote.”

You can learn more about these races and candidates by reading Citizens Union’s online voters’ guide.

An executive order from Governor Andrew Cuomo will allow all eligible voters to vote by absentee ballot in the June primary due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Voters must request an absentee ballot by June 16. You can apply online at or by calling 1-866-VOTE- NYC.

Absentee ballots must be postmarked by June 23. If you would like to vote in-person, you can find your polling location at

Citizens Union Endorsed Candidates in the 2020 primary election:
Assembly District 79 – Elvis Santana (D)
Assembly District 81 – Jeffrey Dinowitz (D)


Senate District 25 – Jason Salmon (D)
Assembly District 50 – Emily Gallagher (D)
Assembly District 56 – Justin Cohen (D)


Assembly District 65 – Yuh-Line Niou (D)
Assembly District 68 – Robert Rodriguez (D)


Queens Borough President – Donovan Richards (D)
Assembly District 31 – Khaleel Anderson (D)
Assembly District 34 – Jessica González-Rojas (D) 
Assembly District 36 – Aravella Simotas (D)
Assembly District 38 – Jenifer Rajkumar (D)

About Citizens Union
For 120 years, Citizens Union (CU) has been a force for transparency, accountability and ethics in New York’s City and State governments. A nonpartisan organization, some of our current initiatives include increased voter participation and civic engagement, greater police accountability, and an accurate 2020 census. Learn more at


Back To Top