skip to Main Content

Of the 51 seats in the New York City Council, 8 candidates are uncontested in the General Election. While there are fewer uncontested races in the General Election than in the primaries, which saw over a third of incumbent council members running unopposed, many of the current contested races are only nominally competitive. Of those 8 Council seats, 5 candidates faced no primary election competition either, meaning that those five incumbents will serve another term without having been meaningfully chosen by their constituents. There are also two seats in the New York State Assembly, filled by special election, in which the candidates are running unopposed in the General Election. Because nominees in New York’s special elections are chosen by party leadership, these two Assembly seats will be filled, again, without any input from the constituents, they will represent in the state legislature.

In Manhattan, District Attorney Cyrus Vance, Jr. has also sought re-election without any primary or General Election competition. Since controversy has arisen around his campaign fundraising, however, there have been press reports of efforts to organize a write-in vote for Manhattan District Attorney and there may be more press coverage on that as Election Day nears.

The following candidates are running uncontested in the General Election for New York City Council, Manhattan District Attorney, and New York State Assembly.

‡ Denotes that the candidate also faced no competition in their primary election.


Council District 34
Antonio Reynoso (D)

Council District 36
Robert E. Cornegy, Jr. (D)‡

Council District 39
Brad S. Lander (D)‡


District Attorney
Cyrus Vance, Jr. (D)‡

Assembly District 71
Alfred Tylor (D)‡


Council District 20
Peter A. Koo (D)

Council District 21
Francisco P. Moya (D)

Council District 25
Daniel Dromm (D)‡

Council District 29
Karen Koslowitz (D)‡

Council District 31
Donovan J. Richards (D)‡

Assembly District 27
Daniel A. Rosenthal (D)‡

Back To Top