skip to Main Content

Of the 91 seats in the NYS legislature (the state Senate and Assembly combined) representing New York City residents:


  • 32 candidates are uncontested in the general election.
  • 2 of these 32 (Tremaine S. Wright in AD 56 and Carmen N. De La Rosa in AD 56) are first time candidates running for open seats in the state legislature.
  • 35% of all NYC seats in the state legislature will be held by candidates who do not face any competition in the general election.
  • Further, 24 of those 32 candidates – or 26% of all state legislative seats in NYC – faced no competition in either the primary or general election.
  • In the state Senate, 7 of NYC’s 26 seats – or 27% – will be held by incumbents who are running for re-election without any general election challengers.
  • In the Assembly, 25 of NYC’s 64 seats – or 39% – will be held by candidates who are running for election without any general election challengers.


The following candidates are running uncontested for NYC seats in the state Senate and Assembly:




Assembly District 83                Carl E. Heastie (D) *



Senate District 17                      Simcha Felder (D) *

Senate District 18                      Martin Malave Dilan (D)

Senate District 19                      Roxanne J. Persaud (D)

Senate District 22                      Martin J. Golden (R) *

Senate District 26                      Daniel Squadron (D) *


Assembly District 43                Diana Richardson (D) *

Assembly District 48                Dov Hikind (D) *

Assembly District 50                Joseph R. Lentol (D) *

Assembly District 53                Maritza Davila (D) *

Assembly District 56                Tremaine S. Wright (D)

Assembly District 57                Walter T. Mosley III (D) *

Assembly District 58                N. Nick Perry (D) *



Assembly District 66                Deborah J. Glick (D)

Assembly District 72                Carmen N. De La Rosa (D)



Assembly District 26                Edward C. Braunstein (D) *

Assembly District 27                Michael Simanowitz (D) *

Assembly District 28               Andrew Hevesi (D) *

Assembly District 29                Alicia L. Hyndman (D)

Assembly District 31                Michele R. Titus (D) *

Assembly District 32                Vivian E. Cook (D)

Assembly District 34                Michael G. DenDekker (D) *

Assembly District 35                Jeffrion L. Aubry (D) *

Assembly District 36                Aravella Simotas (D) *

Assembly District 37                Catherine Nolan (D) *

Assembly District 39                Francisco P. Moya (D) *



Senate District 23                      Diane J. Savino (D) *

Senate District 24                      Andrew Lanza (R) *


Assembly District 61                Matthew Titone (D) *

Assembly District 62                Ronald Castorina Jr. (R)

Assembly District 63                Michael Cusick (D) *

Assembly District 64                Nicole Malliotakis (R) *

* Indicates those candidates who faced no opposition in either the primary or general elections.

Back To Top